This year’s ‘Noise Oscars’ are open for entry and looking for organisations, projects and technology that can demonstrate proven steps in reducing noise pollution.

Organised by the Noise Abatement Society (NAS), the John Connell Awards will take place on 31 October at the Palace of Westminster.

The NAS works closely with local authorities and the freight sector to encourage quieter working based on low-noise vehicles and best-practice methods that enable anytime deliveries without noise disturbance.

Last year’s winners include TfL’s Retiming Deliveries Consortium, created in 2013 to encourage retiming without noise disturbance through guidance tools, engagement and collaboration, and food chain Pret A Manger for its commitment to quiet delivery technology on its fleet.


Now in their 16th year, the John Connell Awards have three categories relevant to those in the road transport sector:

  • The Silent Approach Award recognises advances in industry awareness and best practice to reduce noise from operations and logistics. This award is for organisations that have developed proven noise-reduction programmes, whether through the adoption of quiet(er) transport modes, low-noise ancillary-equipment, staff training or other pro-active noise-awareness initiatives.
  • The Enterprise in Quiet Logistics Award recognises advances in low-noise technology, equipment and operations to facilitate safe, quiet(er) and efficient urban distribution services. This award is for operators, vehicle manufacturers, trailer-makers, bodybuilders and ancillary equipment suppliers who’ve created quiet(er)/low-noise products, services and programmes with reduced noise impact.
  • The Innovation Award recognises original thinking to successfully resolve a particularly challenging commercial noise issue. This award is for organisations including those distribution companies, logistics providers, retailers, local authorities and other key community-stakeholders who have successfullytackled noise disturbance through proactive noise reduction programmes, technology and design.

The awards are free to enter, with full submission criteria available online. Deadline for entries is Friday 22 September.