A woman driver behind at the wheel of a truck, being instructed.

The shortlist for the inaugural Women in Logistics awards has now been revealed, and operators are urged to take part in the voting, which closes at 8pm on 4 July.

Launched in 2008, the not-for-profit organisation has more than 2,000 members and was created to attract, retain and support women working across the logistics sector.

Vying to scoop the Company of the Year award this year are Ceva Logistics, Premier Farnell and Pepsico, with all three businesses demonstrating their commitment to developing the careers of female employees within their respective organisations.

Shortlisted for the individual Woman of the Year award, are:

  • Philippa Bell - director of Shipmore who has lobbied the government to raise the profile of women in logistics;
  • Marie Boyer - MD of France Line, who has overseen a huge increase in shipments and turnover in the past 12 months;
  • Adele Waite - general manager of a $1.25bn global contract for DHL who has driven growth of return on capital employed by 740% for her organisation;
  • Lynne Watson - contract development manager at Wincanton who was integral in acquiring a £26m contract with Sainsbury's

Co-founder of Women in Logistics, Ruth Waring FCILT, says: “We are delighted with the volume and quality of entries received.

"It was an enormously encouraging task to read through all the candidates and learn about the positive impact they are all having on our industry, but that made narrowing them down to a shortlist even tougher for us.”

The winners will be announced at an evening event on 6 July at the Chesford Grange Hotel. This will be held in benefit of transport charity Transaid.