The shortlist for the UK’s best truck drivers has been published by Microlise.

The winners of the short, medium and long distance categories will be announced at a black-tie dinner on Tuesday 14 May.

The Driver of the Year 2019 revealed at the Microlise Transport Conference at The Ricoh Arena in Coventry the following day.

The shortlist was drawn up following assessment by an independent judging panel that included Motor Transport’s editor Steve Hobson, recently retired traffic commissioner Joan Aitken and RHA chief executive Richard Burnett.

The list contains drivers from major brands including DHL, Ceva Logistics, Culina, Hovis and Waitrose.

The winners of employer-nominated awards, including Young Driver of the Year, Most Improved Driver of the Year, HGV Hero and Lifetime Achievement Award will also be announced on the 14 May.