The Driving Standards Agency (DSA) has published a new framework document defining the skills, knowledge and understanding required by truck drivers.

National Driving Standard Category C (lorry) outlines what drivers need to know, understand and be able to do in areas such as:

• preparing a vehicle and its occupants for a journey

• guiding and controlling a vehicle

• using the road in accordance with the Highway Code

• driving safely and responsibly

• reviewing and adjusting driver behaviour over a lifetime.

The DSA worked with the haulage industry to develop the document which also addresses specific issues such as the use of tachographs and the dangers of continuous driving.

Frameworks have also been published to cover bus and coach driving.

Rosemary Thew, DSA chief executive, said: "The publication of these standards will help to ensure that all lorry drivers acquire the right skills, knowledge and attitude to use our roads safely and responsibly, as well as contributing to cutting the human and financial cost of road accidents.

In a statement Vosa added: "Road safety is Vosa's number one priority so we welcome the new framework published by the Driving Standards Agency (DSA) which sets out the competences expected of lorry drivers."