microlise driver of the year 2019

Bibby Distribution driver Mark Field (pictured with host Quentin Willson) has been named Microlise Driver of the Year 2019.

mark field bibby microlise

He also scooped the short distance category, aimed at drivers who regularly undertake journeys of up to 30,000 miles per year.

The medium distance category was won by Ceva Logistics’ driver Jonathan Phillips, with the long distance category being awarded to DHL’s Jeff Maycock.

Meanwhile, Abbey Logistics Group won the Driver Excellence award, with the highest proportion of drivers in the top 1,000, based on an analysis of total telematics data.

The Microlise Driver of the Year Awards, which is growing in size year-on-year, also included shortlisted drivers from Culina, Royal Mail, Frank Roberts, Ryder and Travis Perkins.

The winners of company-nominated categories were also announced including Kimberley Murrock from Hovis who scooped the Young Driver award and Steven Ansell from Waitrose who won HGV Hero.

Joanna Dorociak from Samworth Brothers Distribution was the Most Improved Driver, while Annette Stagg from CM Downton won the Extra Mile award.

The Lifetime Achievement award went to John Males from Bibby Distribution.

An independent judging panel reviewed anonymised data across each category and included RHA chief executive Richard Burnett; Motor Transport editor Steve Hobson; the recently-retired traffic commissioner for Scotland, Joan Aitken; NED board advisor London Ambulance Service and Transport Focus, Theo De Pencier; national officer from Unite, Matt Draper; and executive director of Microlise, Bob Harbey.

“I would like to congratulate all the winning drivers who have demonstrated the highest level of skill and professionalism over the last 12 months,” said Harbey.

“Our industry is nothing without the drivers whose commitment and expertise keeps our economy moving.”

All 24 shortlisted drivers enjoyed a Porsche track day, courtesy of MAN Truck & Bus UK.