The government has put in its request to the European Commission (EC) to extend the rural fuel rebate scheme to ten more UK towns.

Scotland features heavily in the list with Acharacle, Achnasheen, Appin, Carrbridge, Dalwhinnie, Gairloch and Strathpeffer all nominated.

Kirkby-in-Furness, Lynton and Hawes are the applications for England. Wales does not feature at all.

A final decision on the areas in the scheme is expected from the EC next year.

However the Treasury has previously confirmed that its plan to extend the existing island fuel rebate may not yield the same 5ppl discount in place at present.

Danny Alexander, Chief Secretary to the Treasury, said: “We have put together the strongest possible evidence base to try and maximise the places that get it.

“As I’ve said before, it won’t be easy to get this agreed with the Commission, but I will do everything I can to make this happen.”