More than 50 of the road transport industry's leading figures judged this year's awards entries and selected only the very best contenders for the Motor Transport Awards 2017.

Serial winners DPDgroup find themselves shortlisted in five categories, and will be looking to capitalise on three wins in 2016. While two-time Haulier of the Year Abbey Logistics; one-time winner Elddis Transport and Wincanton battle it out to follow Malcolm Logistics as the Motor Transport Haulier of the Year.

Apprenticeship of the Year

sponsored by GiTi Tire (UK)

• BT Fleet

• Cemex UK

• Royal Mail Fleet

Best Use of Technology

sponsored by Bridgestone

• Driver Exchange /Saint-Gobain

• McGee Group

• Travis Perkins

Business Excellence Award

sponsored by Hireco

• Expect Distribution

• Malcolm Logistics

• Palletforce

MT 56

Customer Care Award

sponsored by Isuzu Truck UK


• Expect Distribution

• Panther Warehousing

• Pladis



Fleet Truck of the Year

sponsored by Texaco Lubricants

• Daf XF

• Scania R-series

• Volvo FH4

Fleet Van of the Year

sponsored by Vision Track

• Fiat Ducato

• Mercedes-Benz Sprinter

• Vauxhall Vivaro

Fleet Van Operator of the Year

sponsored by Renault Trucks

• Gnewt Cargo

• Sainsbury’s Online

• Speedy Services

MT 73

Haulier of the Year

sponsored by Volvo Trucks

• Abbey Logistics

• Elddis Transport

• Wincanton



Home Delivery Operator of the Year

sponsored by The Cartwright Group


• Hermes

• Panther Warehousing

Innovation Award

sponsored by Goodyear


• John Lewis Partnership

• Road Haulage Association (Extra Click)

• Tiger Trailers

• Transdek

Livery of the Year

sponsored by SDC Trailers

• Bibby Distribution

• Brian Yeardley Continental

• DPD Local

• GBA Services

• Topps Tiles

MT 68

Low Carbon Award

sponsored by Keyfuels

• Arla Foods

• Bright House

• Fowler Welch

• John Lewis Partnership



Operational & Compliance Excellence Award

sponsored by the Freight Transport Association

• Cemex UK

• Hermes

• John Lewis Partnership

Partnership Award

sponsored by Wincanton

• Alltruck/DX Group

• Arla/Danone

• Cemex UK/Continental

• DFDS/Magnavale

• Parcelforce/Screwfix

• Steve Porter Transport/Meachers Global Logistics/Red Funnel Ferries

Safety in Operation

sponsored by CVL

• Cemex UK

• Expect Distribution

• NFT Distribution

• Palletline

Gynn Davies

Glyn Davies won the Service to Industry Award in 2016. Who will follow him in 2017?

Service to Industry Award

sponsored by Ryder

There is no shortlist for this award. The winner will be announced at the awards ceremony on 5 July 2017.

Team of the Year

sponsored by HIAB

• Bibby Distribution

• Hermes

• Pall-Ex

• WMB Logistics

Technical Excellence Award

sponsored by Hankook Tyre UK

• Cemex UK

• Tesco Distribution

• The Cartwright Group

Temperature Controlled Operator of the Year

sponsored by Enterprise Flex-e-Rent

• McBurney Transport

• McCulla (Ireland)

• NR Evans

Training Award

sponsored by Fleet Operator Recognition Scheme (FORS)

• Cemex UK


• Samworth Brothers Supply Chain

• UK Mail