The shortlist for the Microlise Driver of the Year Awards has been announced.

It contains drivers from brands including DHL, Culina, Hovis, Royal Mail, Waitrose and Yodel, across telematics based distance categories, as well as Young Driver of the Year, Most Improved Driver of the Year, Extra Mile, HGV Hero and Lifetime Achievement Award.

With telematics based categories containing an initial eligible pool of over 210,000 drivers, and nomination-based categories receiving more entries than ever before, the shortlist has been drawn-up after weeks of data analysis, corroboration by employers and assessment by an independent judging panel.

Commented Microlise chief executive Nadeem Raza: “The Microlise Driver of the Year Awards, which is now in its sixth year, continues to highlight the expertise and sheer dedication of drivers who travel the length and breadth of the UK.

"According to the judging panel, there is little to separate our shortlisted drivers, who are true ambassadors for the industry.”

Independent judges included RHA chief executive Richard Burnett; editor of Truck and Driver magazine, Dougie Rankine; the former traffic commissioner for Scotland, Joan Aitken; board advisor to London Ambulance Service and Transport Focus, Theo De Pencier; and executive director of Microlise, Bob Harbey.

“The standard of entries was simply outstanding and a true credit to all those nominated," Harbey said. "All nominees could have been worthy winners. I have to congratulate all nominees for giving me and my fellow judges such a very difficult task. It was a privilege to take part in recognising the truly inspirational HGV drivers who consistently perform their role with such professionalism and customer focus.”

The Short, Medium and Long distance awards draw data from Microlise telematics units collected throughout 2019 which is then assessed against criteria developed by the University of Nottingham’s Advanced Data Analysis Centre.

Employers submit entries for the additional categories, which the judging panel review.

The full shortlist of 26 drivers will again enjoy a Porsche track day, when social distancing restrictions are relaxed and it is safe to do so.

With winners typically announced at the Microlise Transport Conference, which has been cancelled for 2020 due to the coronavirus pandemic, winners across all categories will instead be announced over the coming weeks.


Short Distance

Clifford Berry - Gist

Karl Vincent Dennis - Culina Logistics

Richard Smart - Ryder Ltd

Medium Distance

Marcin Rafal Biront - DHL

Mark Gilbert - Royal Mail

Dzevad Grozdanic - Yodel

Long Distance

Gillian Brooks - Gist


Iacob Vasile-Ionut - DHL M&S

Driver Excellence

No shortlist - award to be presented to operator with largest proportion of drivers in the top 1,000.

Extra Mile

Paul Galbraith - Waitrose

Andrzej Konieczny - Brit European

Roderick David Mitchell - Miniclipper Logistics

HGV Hero

Talide Balde -Hovis

John Bushby - Gist

Phil Hoskins - City Plumbing Supplies Holdings Ltd

Lee Mumford - Hovis

Tim Watson - Waitrose

Most Improved Driver of the Year

Craig Abbotts - DPD Group UK Ltd

Christopher Given - CM Downton

Dimka Ivanova - Boughey Distribution

Young Driver of the Year

Jamie Ian Lamb - Howdens Joinery

Jordan Rogers - Goldstar Heathrow

Matt Wright - Ryder Ltd

Lifetime Achievement

Garry Bellamy - Forterra Building Products Ltd

David Holmes - Gist

Christopher Paul Spivey - Howden Joinery

Link to press release, images and video: https://www.microlise.com/news-events/shortlist-for-uks-premier-hgv-driver-awards-announced-2/