Operators including Bibby Distribution, Culina and Royal Mail have had drivers shortlisted for the Microlise Driver of the Year Awards. 

Microlise announced the shortlist today (3 May), complete with several new categories based on industry nominations.

These are awards for: Extra Mile; HGV Hero; Lifetime Achievement; Most Improved Driver of the Year; and Young Driver of the Year.

The driving awards are judged against Microlise telematics data gathered throughout 2016.

Microlise CEO Nadeem Raza said: “These awards were launched and are designed to identify the best of the best. Those shortlisted have performed exceptionally over a 12-month period, showing high levels of skill, dedication and professionalism. The data doesn’t lie and to be identified from over 120,000 drivers just shows how good these drivers are.”

The winners will be announced at a dinner on 16 May at the Ricoh Arena.

One overall winner will then be named at the Microlise Transport Conference the following day.

Microlise Driver of the Year shortlist

Short Distance

Alan Cobb – Ceva

Michael Young – Culina

Anthony Fieldhouse – DX Freight

Medium Distance

Rafal Kolenko – Samworth Brothers

Mark Close – Brocklesby

Anthony Niles – Culina

Long Distance

Peter Jones – Chamberlain

John Seggons – Bibby Distribution

Jason Jeffry – Goldstar Transport

Driver Excellence

No shortlist – award to be presented to operator with largest proportion of drivers in the top 1,000.

Extra Mile

Neil Salmon & Clive Everson – B&Q

Stuart McClellan – Bibby Distribution

Peter Cochrane – Samworth Brothers

HGV Hero

John Harrington – DHL

Robert Brown – Eddie Stobart

Most Improved Driver of the Year

Clive Sutton – Bibby Distribution

Michael Roberts – Royal Mail

Catherine Eastbourne – Warburtons

Young Driver of the Year

Thomas Virtue – Hovis

Grszegorz Kepinski – Muller

Laura Farnsworth – Samworth Brothers

Lifetime Achievement

Richard Ireson – Tesco

John Seeley – Hovis

Paul Thompson – Bibby Distribution