John Hayes MP has retained his role for freight and logistics, following Prime Minister Theresa May’s cabinet reshuffle.

John Hayes

John Hayes MP

Hayes took on the role last September and reports to transport secretary Chris Grayling, who also retained his position following the general election and changes to May’s senior team.

Hayes, MP for South Holland and The Deepings, is also responsible for Highways England and skills and innovation at the department.

His predecessor, Andrew Jones MP, has left the DfT to take up the role of Exchequer Secretary to the Treasury.

The Treasury was hit hard by the election, with Conservative MP Jane Ellison losing her seat.

The remaining DfT ministerial team consists of Paul Maynard MP (rail), new arrival Jesse Norman MP – who was most recently chairman of the Department for Culture, Media and Sport Select Committee - and Lord Callanan, who became a life peer in September 2014.