Haulier Award

Abbey Logistics made it a double whammy at last night’s MT Awards, picking up Haulier of the Year and Business Excellence Awards – also joining an exclusive club of just three other firms who have won Haulier of the Year twice. Innovations included the development of a twin-cargo trailer, capable of carrying liquid and palletised goods, and encouraging young people into the industry via their MD’s Think Logistics initiative. The judges said: “This company has a clear vision and knows where it is going.”

The Liverpool-based operator also picked up the inaugural Business Excellence Award, making them one of the big winners on the night. Also collecting two awards was DPD, which claimed the honours in the Customer Care and Best Use of Technology categories.

Outgoing MAN UK chief executive Des Evans, received the Service to Industry Award, one of 19 awards handed out on the night.

The MT Awards winners 2014:

Apprenticeship of the Year (sponsored by Cartwright): Petit Forestier UK

Operational and Compliance Excellence (sponsored by Tachodisc): Hermes

Best Use of Technology (Sponsored by Bridgestone): DPD

Partnership Award (sponsored by Bandvulc): Suttons/ British Sugar

Business Excellence Award (sponsored by Fortec): Abbey Logistics

Repair and Maintenance Workshop of the Year (sponsored by Total): Imperial Commercials

Customer Care Award (sponsored by Isuzu): DPD

Safety in Operation Award (sponsored by CVL): Cemex

Fleet Truck of the Year (sponsored by Texaco): Mercedes-Benz Actros

Service to Industry Award (sponsored by Giti Tyres): Des Evans, chief executive MAN UK

Fleet Van of the Year (sponsored by Lex Autolease): Fiat Doblo Cargo

Team of the Year (sponsored by BNP Paribas): Travis Perkins

Technical Excellence Award (sponsored by Hankook): Indesit

Innovation Award (sponsored by Haulage Exchange): Carrier Transcold UK

Temperature Controlled Operator of the Year (sponsored by Burnt Tree): Culina Logistics

Livery of the Year (sponsored by SDC): Marstons

Training Award (sponsored by APC): O’Donovan Waste Disposal

Low Carbon Award (sponsored by Keyfuels): Brit-European

Haulier of the Year (sponsored by MAN): Abbey Logistics