The winners of the inaugural Future Truck Design Awards were revealed at the CV Show.

Transport for London's (TfL's) competition asked students across the UK to help shape future urban delivery vehicles, incorporating safety, efficiency and clean technology into their designs.

“We’ve been overwhelmed by the quality, originality and innovation of the entries,” said Ian Wainwright, head of TfL’s freight and fleet team.

“The awards have generated ideas that challenge the traditional look of the HGV, inform future vehicle design and accelerate the process of building trucks for safe, urban use,” he added.

Andy Salter, MD at Road Transport Media and judging panel chairman, said: “Many of the innovations are futuristic in nature but can easily be envisaged as genuine HGV design in just a few years’ time.”

The winners:

FturureTruckRauri 1

Whole Vehicle Design,16-18 years – One Engineering, Suffolk One

Whole Vehicle Design, Undergraduates – Ruari Kirwan-Taylor (pictured left)

Whole Vehicle Design,Postgraduates – Po Yuan Huang and Jing Tian Li

System of Operation – James Ayre

Safety Feature Innovation – Sam Philpott and Kalle Keituri