The 2014 Motor Transport Awards will be open for entries in January 2014 and the categories have now been confirmed. 

Among the exciting new categories for 2014 are Operational and Compliance Excellence, Technical Excellence and Business Excellence - each designed to reflect the three most significant aspects of running a successful transport operation. A top ops department has to juggle the needs of the business to run profitably and legally compliant at all times, while the technical team has to keep the fleet safe, efficient and legal.

The Business Excellence Award is open to all types of company in the road transport sector and recognises those businesses with a successful long term strategy to grow profitably in what remains an uncertain economic outlook.

Another new category for 2014 is Temperature Controlled Operator of the Year, which will be presented to the operator - third party or own account - that can demonstrate exceptionally high standards in the field of chilled or frozen distribution.

The awards website will be open for entries shortly; in the meantime you can complete your details by clicking the 'keep me informed' link to receive further details as soon as they become available.

Entry deadline: 21 March 2014

Motor Transport Awards: 2 July 2014

Best Use of Technology

sponsored by Bridgestone

Business Excellence Award

sponsored by Fortec Distribution Network

Customer Care Award

sponsored by Isuzu Truck (UK)

Fleet Truck of the Year

sponsored by Texaco Lubricants

Fleet Van of the Year

sponsored by Lex Autolease

Haulier of the Year

sponsored by MAN Truck & Bus UK

Innovation Award

sponsored by Transport Exchange Group

Livery of the Year

Low Carbon Award

sponsored by Keyfuels

Operational and Compliance Excellence Award

sponsored by Tachodisc

Partnership Award

sponsored by Bandvulc Group

Repair and Maintenance Workshop of the Year

sponsored by Total UK

Safety in Operation Award

sponsored by Contract Vehicles

Service to Industry Award

sponsored by GiTi Tire (UK)

Team of the Year

Technical Excellence Award

sponsored by Hankook Tyre

Temperature Controlled Operator of the Year

sponsored by Burnt Tree Refrigerantal

Training Award

sponsored by APC Overnight