The shortlist for the 2016 Motor Transport Awards has been published, with Browns Distribution Services, Malcolm Logistics, Pentalver and WH Barley in the running for Haulier of the Year.

The finalists were decided by more than 70 industry expert judges during two days of debate at the Hilton Leicester Hotel last month.

Winners will be announced at the award ceremony on 6 July at Grosvenor House, London.

Visit the Motor Transport Awards website to book your place at this year’s event.


Motor Transport Awards 2016 shortlist

Apprenticeship of the Year

Sponsored by GT Radial

•    The Cartwright Group

•    Cemex UK

•    CM Downton

•    Volvo Group

Best Use of Technology

Sponsored by Bridgestone

•    Arrow XL

•    Martin Brower UK

•    Nisa Retail

•    XPO Logistics

•    Yearsley Group

Business Excellence Award

Sponsored by Route Monkey

•    The Cartwright Group

•    DPD

•    N R Evans

•    Palletways UK

Customer Care Award

Sponsored by Isuzu Truck UK

•    Browns Distribution Services

•    DPD

•    Pall-Ex

•    United Biscuits

•    Yodel

Fleet Truck of the Year

Sponsored by Texaco Lubricants

  • Daf XF
  • Mercedes-Benz Actros
  • Volvo FH

Fleet Van of the Year

  • Ford Transit
  • Iveco Daily
  • Mercedes-Benz Sprinter

Fleet Van Operator of the Year

Sponsored by Renault Trucks

  • Electricity North West
  • Gateshead Council
  • HSS Hire Service Group
  • NHS Blood and Transplant (NHSBT)
  • Riverford Managed Territories

Haulier of the Year

Sponsored by Volvo

  • Browns Distribution Services
  • Malcolm Logistics
  • Pentalver
  • WH Barley (Transport & Storage)

Home Delivery Operator of the Year

Sponsored by The Cartwright Group

  • Arrow XL
  • DPD
  • Hermes

Innovation Award

Sponsored by Good Year

  • Dawes Highway Safety
  • Driver First Assist CIC
  • SOMI Trailers
  • Vision Techniques

Livery of the Year

Sponsored by SDC

  • Arrow XL
  • Europa Worldwide Group
  • Freightlink Europe
  • Linkline Transport
  • Malcolm Logistics
  • Mobile People.Powered.Logistics.

Low Carbon Award

Sponsored by Keyfuels

  • Argos
  • Bibby Distribution
  • United Biscuits

Operational and Compliance Excellence Award

Sponsored by FTA

  • CTS Group
  • O'Donovan Waste Disposal
  • One Stop Distribution

Partnership Award

Sponsored by Bandvulc

  • AKW/Trade Distribution
  • Cemex UK/Continental Tyre Group
  • Ryder/Bridgestone
  • Think Logistics/Career Ready

Safety in Operation Award

Sponsored by CVL

  • Ceva Logistics UK/British Gypsum
  • Hermes
  • Marshalls
  • O'Donovan Waste Disposal
  • TNT UK

Service to Industry

Sponsored by Ryder

There is no shortlist for this award. The winner will be announced on the night.

Team of the Year

Sponsored by Hiab

  • Hermes
  • Palletline
  • Pall-Ex
  • TNT UK

Technical Excellence Award

Sponsored by Hancook

  • AAH Pharmaceuticals
  • Brit European Transport
  • Matthew Kibble Transport
  • South East Coast Ambulance Service NHS

Temperature Controlled Operator of the Year

Sponsored by Enterprise Flex-e-Rent

  • Nagel Langdons
  • Samworth Brothers Supply Chain
  • Turners (Soham)

Training Award

Sponsored by Fors

  • DPD
  • O'Donovan Waste Disposal
  • Wincanton Logistics