Ten more UK towns in line for fuel duty rebate


The government has put in its request to the European Commission (EC) to extend the rural fuel rebate scheme to ten more UK towns. Scotland features heavily in the list with Acharacle, Achnasheen, Appin, Carrbridge, Dalwhinnie, Gairloch and Strathpeffer all nominated. Kirkby-in-Furness, Lynton and Hawes are the applications for England. Wales does not feature at all. A final decision on the areas in the scheme is expected from the EC next year. However the Treasury has previously confirmed that its […]